Australia Day Awards

I want to congratulate the Illawarra and Southern Highlands Australia Day award winners. In particular, from Shellharbour there was Kiki Cuda, who was the youngest ever winner of the Shellharbour Young Citizen of the Year at the age of 12, recognising her tremendous work for charity. 

There was Dave Williamson, otherwise known as Scooter Dave, who travels over nine kilometres each day on his mobility scooter to help keep our community clean and tidy. From Wollongong, there was Ebony Austin, the Young Citizen of the Year, recognising her contribution to dance. A friend and colleague and local businesswoman Vicki Tiegs was awarded the Wollongong Citizen of the Year and joint Senior Citizens of the Year are David North and Annette Beaufils.

From the Wingecarribee Shire, I want to recognise Aunty Wendy Lotter, who spent 25 years working with the local community to strengthen links between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians. Young Citizen of the Year, 17-year-old William Koek, a Rotary member, has shown an outstanding commitment to his community at such a young age, particularly to those in need. There were many people from the district who were also recognised in the Australia Day Honours List, including Gordon Bradbery, Dr Gregory Clark, Captain John Philip Stevenson, Lieutenant-Colonel Philip Badcock, Don Briggs, Janice Jones, Paul Shanahan, Reverend Father Francis Tran and Jeanne Villani. They are great Australians and great ambassadors for our region. I recognise and
congratulate them all.